Joan of Arc’s Home

Just 7 minutes from the Hotel, discover the home of Joan of Arc. This wooden medieval style city house is a reconstitution from the 1960s of the residence of Jacques Boucher, the general treasurer of the Duke of Orléans, with whom Joan of Arc stayed.

Joan of Arc stayed there between 29th April and 9th May 1429 when she helped to heroically liberate the city during the Siege of Orléans, which opposed the coalition of the Kingdom of England and the State of Burgundy, against the Kingdom of France.

A smattering of history in this museum-house…

Joan of Arc’s House is a historical museum which is home to a multimedia room and research and documentation centre. On the ground floor, the multimedia room has interactive stations, a cartography of Joan of Arc’s journey and an illustrated chronology of the heroin down the centuries. The visit then continues with a panoramic animated film tracing the life of the Pucelle and her memory in Orléans.

The museum was entirely reconstructed in 1965 after having been completely destroyed by the bombings of Orléans in 1940 during the Second World War. It is home to a pool of archives dedicated to Joan of Arc and her period with some 37,000 documents.

Opening times:
October to March: 2pm to 6pm – projection every hour
April to September: 10am to 1pm and 2pm to 6pm – projection every half hour
Closed on Mondays and public holidays